Weather Icon 12.6°C Overcast
Glossopdale Young Musician of the Year competition
Tuesday 13th February 2018 @ 08:30 by Nigel Skinner
Community Glossop Chronicle News Schools

Glossopdale School has held the finals of its sixth annual Young Musician of the Year competition and as usual the standard was high.

It took place last Wednesday, possibly for the final time, in Hall One on the Talbot Road site, which closes in the summer ready for the move into the new £23m school in Newshaw Lane, Hadfield.

Due to the popularity of the talent show type contest, however, the competition is expected to continue at the swish new set-up.

The format followed the same as of recent years.

Two weeks before the final, auditions, that were described as of a ‘very high standard’ were held.

From them, nine students were selected to perform in the junior (Years 7-9) final and nine in the senior final (Years 10-13).

Josie Swan (voice), Johan Kidger (piano), Matthew Baynham (drum kit), Lucas Habgood (trombone), Emma Whitehead (clarinet), Beth Billing (voice), Noah Ryan (piano),  Kyra Parvin (voice/ukulele) and Samantha Betts (piano), contested the junior final.

Megan Shaw (vocals), Freddy Woolley (saxophone), May Trigg (flute), Adam Brass (euphonium),  Rory Craig (piano), Elliot McFarlane (tuba), Hannah Senior (flute), Alex Oliver (recorder) and Sam Baxter (violin), were the seniors.

Each student performed one piece in front of a panel of professional musicians, chaired by Steve Pickett (education director of the Hallé Orchestra) which also included vocal soloist and teacher Claire Surman from Glossop and saxophone player and former Glossopdale student Hannah Whitehead.

Head of music Mark Bousie said: “All 18 of the performers gave great accounts of themselves. For some, it was their first public performance and in front of an audience of around 50 people. The panel had to give a top three in each category.”

Results: Juniors: (Years 7-9): 1. Kyra Parvin (who wrote her own song); 2. Lucas Habgood; 3. Johan Kidger. Senior (Years 10-13): 1. Rory Craig; 2. Sam Baxter; 3. May Trigg.